Serving dinner every night, beginning at 5:30 pm.

Call: (801) 272-8255

History


Salt Lake City’s Log Haven has been a magnet for romance since its inception over 80 years ago. In 1920, Salt Lake steel baron and Metropolitan Opera member L.F. Rains created the breathtaking log hideaway as an anniversary gift for his wife. Logs from Oregon were shipped via San Francisco and hauled four miles up Millcreek Canyon by horse-drawn wagon. Appropriately named “Log Haven” and built at the base of cliffs and flowing waterfalls, the Rains family used the sanctuary as a summer home. The idyllic retreat became a gathering place for many local executives who came to explore the mountains, fish in the creek and sit by the home’s many fireplaces while hatching plans for the future of Salt Lake City and Utah.

During the Depression, an insurance executive named Gleed Miller bought Log Haven and turned it into a year-round residence. He added additional rooms and built an ice skating pond and horse stables across the road. When the Miller children grew up and left their wilderness-near-the-city-nest, the property passed to Stanley Sprouse, who converted the log home to a restaurant. During the late 1980s, Log Haven fell into disrepair and was slated to be destroyed. Luckily, Margo Provost purchased Log Haven in 1994 and completely refurbished and renovated this historic retreat.

Romance has always been in the mountain air surrounding Log Haven. Consistently awarded “Most Romantic Restaurant” by Utah publications, Log Haven has carried on its pioneering tradition as a cherished gathering place. The distinctive dining destination is now a favorite spot for fine dining, weddings, anniversaries and celebrations of all kinds.